Looking Back, Looking Forward

Just got a report from WordPress on what people liked on the blog over the past year. Let me say at the outset that I am not much of a blogger. I write more when I have time off from my normal job, and that isn’t often. So my writing is infrequent, and it is mostly about stuff that I have either published or am reading for my book club or other readings.

2013_2014-in-Sand-724x479So what did people tend to read or like? The most popular posts were on sexual minorities in faith-based higher ed (here) and the series on mixed orientation couples (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, additional thoughts). I’m not too surprised by this. These were pretty interesting studies, and part of what I try to do with these posts is make them a little more accessible to people who are not likely to read original research. There is also a very popular blog post from a few years back on value conflicts in counseling. The legal and ethical issues surrounding whether a counselor can/should/should not refer a client around value conflicts continues to be an interesting subject.

Most people come here from Facebook, which is likely due to the ISSI FB web page. I update that much more frequently and then link to articles I have over here. If you read the blog but haven’t checked out that page, it might be of interest to you.

Folks came to the site from 124 different countries. Interesting. Mostly the U.S. and Canada, but don’t sleep on Australia and the U.K., which are coming in third and fourth.

As I look forward to 2014, I anticipate stories about faith and sexuality will primarily be my focus, although I just finished reading a book about faith that has nothing to do with sexuality, and I will have a post up soon about that. It was really good, and it brought back a lot of memories from my time in Cambridge. Also, I have new book scheduled for release in April titled Sexuality and Sex Therapy: A Comprehensive Christian Appraisal. You can read more about it here. I imagine I’ll post about that as we get closer to the publication date. It looks like I’ll participate in a dialogue at a national psychology conference, so I may discuss aspects of that if appropriate. I’ve also been asked to consult more on gender identity/dysphoria, so I may post a little more about that in the coming year. That is a fascinating area that deserves more time and attention.

So there you have it. Looking back at 2013 and looking forward to 2014. Let’s go.

Leave a Reply

