Biological Perspectives on Human Sexuality

sexualityandholylongingToday’s topic in Human Sexuality was biological perspectives on human sexuality. Before the lecture on basic anatomy and physiology, we discussed the next chapter from McMinn’s integration resource. I was struck by the observation in the chapter that since the sexual revolution our culture’s understanding of sex has been both reductionistic and humanistic. We have focused on biological explanations of human sexuality and personal choice as it pertains to sexual behavior.

Some would argue that we as a society have few reference points for why people should engage in the some behaviors rather than others. So we end up explaining biological functioning and emphasizing personal choice, and then we leave young people to make their decisions.

Is this really all we have to say about sexuality? McMinn argues that, particularly in the Christian community, there is a need to develop a positive vision for sexuality and sexual behavior rather than limiting our message about sexual behavior to negative consequences as such. This has an impact at many levels, but the obvious connection is in the areas of parenting and sex education.

1 Comment

  1. I can’t agree more with McMinn’s statement. I grew up in the Catholic church, left, but then met Christ several years ago in an evangelical church. It wasn’t until my wife and I were doing premarital counseling that we were confronted with the possibility that sex was really more than procreation, fun, or intimacy building. This woman asked what positive things I had heard about sex, and I couldn’t list anything more than the proposed physical pleasure and bonding emotionally with my wife. We talked for awhile about how the Christian community has done a poor job of really mining the depths of God’s gift of sex, and it really changed my perspective. Since then I’ve read books liked “Sacred Sex” and “Marriage: Momentary Parable” and I’ve found them helpful in expanding my view of what God intended for sex and marriage. Perhaps I’ll pick up McMinn’s book as well. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

