RSS

What Andrew Marin Can Do

20 Aug

The 700 Club just aired a story on Andrew Marin, the 29-year-old evangelical Christian who lives in Boystown in Chicago and builds bridges between the GLBT community and the evangelical Christian community. They interviewed me for the piece, and I thought they did a nice job presenting Marin and his heart for the GLBT community, as well as his desire to challenge how the church has responded to the GLBT community.

As I write this from a Starbucks on Erie in downtown Chicago, I’ve just finished two days of consultation with Marin, J. Michael Bailey of Northwestern University, and Elisabeth Suarez, a colleague of mine from Regent. Marin is analyzing data from his large study (1700+ participants) of religious acculturation in the GLBT community. He is looking at the experiences of GLBT persons in terms of their acculturation in the GLBT community and in religious communities, among other questions.

The consultation itself was a good experience. I hadn’t met Michael Bailey previously, although I’ve read many of his articles, including the widely read twin studies form the 1990s, and his book, The Man Who Would Be Queen. He is currently doing some interesting work on differences in sexual arousal (measured by brain imaging) by sexual orientation. As interesting as discussions in any one of those areas would have been, the purpose of the consultation was to really help Marin look at his data in a way that would help him answer the questions he had about the participants in his study, and that was a common goal we could all work toward.

I suppose what the 700 Club story and the consultation have in common is that both reflect well on Andrew Marin’s ability to bring together a diverse group of people who share a common goal or interest. I’d like to see more of that happen in professional circles in particular – and I think collaboration helps guard against biases and blind spots that are inevitable in research and related projects.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2010 in Sexuality & Gender

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “What Andrew Marin Can Do

  1. Angelia Dickens

    August 22, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Mark,

    I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to do research, write books, and keep us all up to date with your website about topics such as this one. These discussions have helped me better understand how to incorporate topics like this one in my classes. I am teaching a class on Ethics at a Christian University next semester and plan to discuss this issue with my students.

    We all know it is very important that we teach our students to counsel others without imposing their values as well as seek out counseling and supervision to better understand themselves and their own beliefs and biases. It also has helped me see the importance of consulting when making discipline decisions.

    Angelia

     
  2. Angelia Dickens

    August 22, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Opps.

    My last post was in response to a previous article about the student who was dismissed from a counseling program.

    I am glad to see what Martin is doing with his research and building bridges. We need more research such as this. I also agree with you about collaboration removing blind spots!

    Angelia

     
  3. Mark

    August 22, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Hi Angelia,

    I teach Ethics, too. What a fascinating course, and I find it to be a good one for a variety of integration discussions. I’m glad you find the information helpful. Thanks for stopping by.

    Mark

     
  4. Heidi

    September 1, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I am so glad to hear of your collaboration with Andrew Marin. It was your presence and message at Asbury College (and the Colloquium you spoke at), perhaps 5-6 years ago, that first led me to think twice about the spiritual and social challenges that individuals experiencing same-sex attraction face daily. Since then, God has brought friendship after friendship in my life with those in the LGBT community. I find myself constantly going back to the things I learned from your presentations at Asbury while I was a student there. The Marin Foundation is one of the few that has really encouraged my heart to continue building bridges with these people, who are dearly loved of God. I have the highest respect for the work you both do. May God richly bless you both for your contribution to this extremely important social and religious issue!

     
    • Mark

      September 2, 2010 at 8:38 am

      Heidi,

      Thanks for your kind words. I’m glad that talk had the impact on you that it did. My time at Asbury had a significant impact on me, too, and it led to ongoing relationships that have really come to mean a lot to me. Thanks for stopping by!

      Mark

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

